General, Paleo, Plant Based

Paleo? Plant Based? Who is Right?

Last week, I ended the Bone Broth Diet by eating some Einkorn flour pancakes. I have been feeling unwell ever since. It made me wonder if all grains should be out for me. During the week, I watched the Tyroid Secret series and lots of interviews were pointing to a paleo approach to healing. There are no doubt that grains can be inflammatory (a little more on this here) and should be avoided by some people. But, at the same time, I have been learning from Chris Beat Cancer (his Website is truly a wealth of information) and a lot of what he says makes sense. He promotes a cup of beans a day, very little meat, oatmeal for breakfast and potatoes as a health food. Not quite paleo, right? In some of his videos, he talks about the fact that, traditionally, people didn’t eat as much meat as we do because they saved it for special occasions. Only the rich could eat as much as we do and their overeating (meat, sugar, processed grains and dairy products) would cause them to suffer from diseases of affluence (like our Western culture today). In an interview with Dan Buettner, author of the Blue Zones, he explains that a huge factor in the cultures that enjoy longevity is that they eat at least a cup of beans a day. He promotes a plant based diet for optimal health and that is how he helped a lot of cancer patients get healthy. His goal is to nourish the body enough to allow it to heal. I may not have cancer, but that is also how I think I should be able to get better. The problem is, I think I might be sensitive to grains. I have been unwell ever since I reintroduced them in my diet and every time I eat them, my weight goes up a few pounds (a sign of inflammation?). I am not sure about legumes though, I haven’t tested them without grains.

I am still trying some new supplements I purchased last week, but if I don’t see any improvements this month, I think I might have to go paleo again. I might also look at other gut healing diets (like the GAPS diet or I was also considering the WHALS protocol).

Leave a Reply

